Taking a Moment to Gloat

Ever since I started my working life, it has been very hard to get a job. I was born at a time when willing workers had become more numerous than good jobs. And so I: competed like crazy, was disdained by sniffy companies, had to take “good enough” jobs, and endured being told that I could be replaced by just anyone so I had better watch myself or else.

Well, I decided to study a variety of forms of programming and other computer things. I found out that HTML was a remarkably useful skill to have and I turned my nose up at canned programs like Dreamweaver because I wanted to learn to program from scratch and how to control my work product down to the smallest pixel. Others laughed at me because why would I want to work harder? After all, the end product is the end product, right? I don’t think so. If you don’t know why something happened, then you don’t really have command of it.

I learned HTML, then HTML5, I learned CSS and practiced like crazy. I got good at it, good enough to design my own website. It works for me.

Now I am learning some programming in earnest. PHP and MySQL are things I am working through and finding that they are very enjoyable indeed. I will have greater control: of my site, of anyone who I hire to help me out, and the ability to help my customers if they get in a jam. It’s such a relief not have to beg someone else to come in and do a crappy job for too much money, come back and fix it, and put me at the end of their to-do list so that the time between hiring this person and getting the job done is months. I am tired of being the prisoner of that. So, I learn. Then I do. And I prosper in many ways.

So, I felt like that is what you did if you had your own business. Then I ran across this article on line. No one is kidding. I was astounded that they said that “HTML5” was the top search term for employers (at least I think that is what the author means). Good grief, that is the most basic of basic skills. Is it really down to that? Are we so used to having Dreamweaver do our job for us that getting someone who can think from scratch is now at a premium? HTML is something which real programmers don’t call a “language” and will laugh that “it’s not programming….it’s just HTML”; or am I thinking in the past and we really have been reduced to believing that HTML is some Dark Incantation for the initiated only?

If that is indeed what the author meant, I got in my 15 minutes of smirking time. Now I am working for myself but I have the means to get hired by someone else at a handsome salary, and ironically it’s because I am working for myself and picked up that skill. But even more ironically, it’s the thing that protects me from having to work for someone else. !Viva la revolucion!

This entry was posted in Changes, computers, General Comments, Perfume Oils, Possets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

