More on Perfume Longevity

One of the Possetiers asked me this question on the forum, and I will be answering it:

I’m interested in perfume strength and longevity. What causes a perfume to lose power? What notes (like citrus) tend to dissipate quickly? Which tend to create perfume stability and last longer? Does mixing them more concentrated with less carrier oil help the strength and longevity? It seems like it would to some degree.

Enlighten us with what you’ve learned personally if you will I have problems with some perfume oils staying for very long on my skin and even on my hair or clothing. So this would be what I’m most curious about. I don’t know if you’ve covered this topic before or not so if you have would you mind posting where it is?

Perfumes lose power because they evaporate from your skin. The ones which evaporate faster and the top notes and they last a short time. These have very light molecules and they fly away literally! Citrus notes are great but short lived components. Almond note is very strong when you first put it on, but it goes away very quickly and is almost totally gone within 5 minutes.

The components which stay the longest are the ones with the heaviest molecules and so they evaporate very slowly and stay on your skin a long time. Patchouli and musk are good examples.

Generally speaking, the less carrier oil the stronger and longer lasting the fragrance. However, that does not guarantee that something is going to linger…if the fragrance is composed of a lot of top notes, it is going to fade fast under just about all circumstances.

One huge part of the longevity of a perfume is how used you are to it and “dead nose”. Also, how dry your skin is a big part of it, too.

If you are used to a perfume you are going to ignore it sooner and get tired of it quicker. Sad to say, this is permanent. A perfume you loved years ago and have not worn again won’t have the same kick and thrill if you smell it again later. Of course your mileage may vary but…that’s life.

Dead nose is a problem. If you love it and you huff it, you will deadify your nose to it. Alas, the more you like it the faster it recedes.

The oilier your skin, the longer a fragrance will last. I noticed that years ago. I think that is why when I tanned and put a lot of oil on my skin I smelled like my summer perfume (which mingled with my tanning oil) for hours. Paradoxically, heat has a lot to do with it as well. The hotter it is, the more a fragrance will last regardless of the fact that heat makes things evaporate fast (it’s the humidity, too, you know). This may be why summertime is when a lot of people soft pedal their perfumes…they amp.

I hope I answered your questions here. Sorry I didn’t see it sooner.

This entry was posted in General Comments, Perfume Oils, Possets, spring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.